Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

craigc_

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 5, 2007
So I am just starting out in photography. Plan on making it a nice hobby of mine. Was wondering if I can get some feedback for this photo. Keep in mind, I'm still a beginner! Hope I'm getting off to right start..

4900950625_e8b1532293_b.jpg

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
So I am just starting out in photography. Plan on making it a nice hobby of mine. Was wondering if I can get some feedback for this photo. Keep in mind, I'm still a beginner! Hope I'm getting off to right start..

4900950625_e8b1532293_b.jpg

There is a lot of negative space, but it's in places that don't help the composition. I'd probably have shot it vertically, since the subject is vertical.

The large splash of white moves the eyes away from the subject- the eyes are generally drawn to the lightest area in an image, and you have to be careful to give the eyes somewhere to go that brings them to the subject, with leading lines, patterns, or something.

The subject itself is not very photogenic, and the lighting is just ok- if you can't find a photogenic subject, then you have to shape the light to make the subject interesting visually.

Shoot closer, pay more attention to the background, and research topics like "leading lines," "negative space," "tension/release," the rule of thirds," "near, middle, far," and spend some time looking at art you enjoy and analyzing the compositional elements, including lighting, positioning, detail, color, contrast, isolation, etc.

Paul

CW Jones

macrumors 6502
Nov 24, 2009
CT
Background is very distracting. I would try and get some better lighting, not as harsh of lighting on the right hand side. Maybe use a fill flash and a more solid background to help bring out the detail in the figure.