Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kdum8

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 8, 2006
Tokyo, Japan
Hi,

I am new to Aperture so am not familiar with most of it's capabilities yet.

I want to edit two photos below but am not sure how to do it in Aperture.

The first photo of the palms looking out to sea with the vines hanging down has a huge smear at the top of the photo where my lens had water on it. How can I remove this?

Secondly the jetty shot. Does Aperture give me the ability to remove the concrete stand that the jetty protrudes out from at the bottom of the photo and if so how? Any help would be greatly appreciated to this editing novice. :)

If Aperture is not the software for this kind of work what would some of you recommend?

Attachments

• Picture 2.png
    Picture 2.png
    683 KB · Views: 176

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
Aperture is great, IMO, for routine adjustments (ie making good pix even better). But it hasn't got the range of tools required to fix your two pix. You need Photoshop... and more skill with the software than I've got. ;)

But I can offer you one piece of advice, which you may (or may not...) find useful. That is: the problems with these pix (and similar problems) can be solved in-camera, before you press the shutter. 1: by making sure your front element is clean. 2: By walking further along the pier to get the composition you want.

The more you can get right in-camera, the less need you will have of complex software solutions. So you'll be ouside taking more pix instead of staring at an instruction manual. Just my two-pennorth...

kdum8

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 8, 2006
Tokyo, Japan
thank you for your input, so photoshop it is... Seems that Aperture is really only a slightly improved version of iPhoto which makes me wonder why it sells as much as it does....:confused: