Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jplg842

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 11, 2007
Hello.
I'm getting Canon Rebel XSi camera, but dont know what lense should i get..
Im totally new to photography, and just want a good lense for Landscapes, portraits.
im on a budget...

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
Perhaps the kit lens? The IS one is supposed to be ok, actually. What is your budget? Where will your images end up?

BoingoBongo

macrumors regular
Mar 27, 2008
I got my first SLR, an XTi, last year, and I was also confused about lenses. I ended up getting the EF-S 18-55mm IS to start (about $150). It's the standard "kit" lens for the XSi, and it's not bad at all. I think it's a good starter lens because 18-55 is a pretty general range, and it will give you an idea of where you want to go next. For example, I found that I was constantly wanting more telephoto capabilities, so that made it clear what my next lens needed to be.

I bought the EF-S 55-250 IS as my second lens (about $300). It's a pretty great lens, and I'm completely satisfied, so I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for an inexpensive telephoto option.

If you're really into portraits and on a very tight budget, you might want to look into Canon's 50mm prime, sometimes called the "nifty 50." It usually sells for $70-$90. I don't have one, but I've seen some amazing stuff done with it.

All three of these lenses have been getting fantastic reviews, and I think they're probably the best bang-for-your-buck if you're on a budget. You can Google them if you want and see what other people are saying. :)

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->