Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

carve

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 25, 2006
Hello to all! I am looking for a Beginner's DSLR. I do not need the current camera, all I need is a nice little cam that doesn't have that many features and takes clear photos. I have been using a Point and Shoot camera for about 3 years. I think it it is time to upgrade to a clearer picture. I would not like "no-name" brands prefably. Of course it has to be mac compatible. I think thats all I need! Thanks for the help!

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
I would recommend the Nikon d40 or d50. If you prefer Canon then I say go for the rebel.

xfiftyfour

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2006
Clemson, SC
I'm getting my first DSLR this week: a Canon Rebel XTi. I like the Canons best, but only because I learned photography on a Canon 35mm, so the controls will be familiar.

Also, I was going to go with the XT, but for $170 more, I thought it was better to just get the newer release, but that's just personal preference (ie: up to each person whether the newer features are worth $170).

If you prefer Nikon, the D40 looks like a great choice.

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
The most recent MacWorld (it's not available on their website yet) had a rundown of "The Top 5 dSLRs", written by Ben Long - who, I should point out, shoots Canon. The top two picks from the article were the Nikon D40 (beginner) and the Nikon D80.

I have a Nikon bias, so I agree with this. :D However based on past experience, if Canon produces a new budget dSLR before you've purchased (assuming Nikon doesn't also do the same) - consider that new Canon. FWIW it's been my impression that whichever of the two companies most recently introduced a product seems to have what is, at that point, the best value.