Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

monokakata

macrumors 68020
Original poster
May 8, 2008
Ithaca, NY
In late August I bought the Magic Keyboard with numeric keypad to replace the regular USB keyboard. I liked it.

I'm a writer and book designer and the keyboard gets hours of use, every day.

About a week I noticed that it was sliding around on my desk. So out came the metal straightedge -- yes, it was bending down in the center and, not surprisingly, a bit to the left of center. The corner pads weren't catching, thus the sliding.

So today I called Apple Support and wasted 20 minutes with two different reps at two different levels, both of whom insisted that I had damaged the keyboard. But they'd sent me a new one for $99!

I put the keyboard over my knee and bent it back. Now it's normal, but I know it's going to happen again, and I know that Apple will do nothing about it. And sooner or later the unbending trick will stop working. I figure it's a design issue but I suppose it could be a poorly-manufactured one.

Anybody else with the same problem?

I'm inclined to write Tim Cook (sure, his office. . . I know). This really isn't acceptable. I can't be the only one who uses the keyboard for, you know, typing.

Thecoastalpath

macrumors newbie
Oct 7, 2017
Exactly the same experience here. I don’t the keyboard is designed to type on. It’s just designed to be thin.

monokakata

macrumors 68020
Original poster
May 8, 2008
Ithaca, NY
I'm sure you're right about "designed to be thin" rather than for actual constant use. After I bent mine back into shape, I took some of that "athletic tape" and put a large rectangle of it just below the center of the QWERTY portion. The tape is close to the same thickness as the small pads Apple uses.