Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TSX

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Oct 1, 2008
Texas
Im looking for a camera that takes nice pics for under 500. Im not a professional/hobbyist photographer i just need something that's going to be fairly easy to use and take excellent pics for under or maybe around 500. Any suggestions?

Mitthrawnuruodo

Moderator emeritus
Mar 10, 2004
Bergen, Norway
Cheap, easy to use, small and light, 24 mm wide angle, ƒ2.4 aparture and SD card, I give you Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W380 (or the very similar WX1).

Should cost half your budget, or less...

Went to China recently for a 24 day holiday, with only this camera (and my girlfriend with her WX1). Was a bit worried about not bringing a DSLR, but the resulting images was very, very nice and the small size made it very easy to travel with and very unobtrusive in a crowd...

TSX

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Oct 1, 2008
Texas
Cheap, easy to use, small and light, 24 mm wide angle, ƒ2.4 aparture and SD card, I give you Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W380 (or the very similar WX1).

Should cost half your budget, or less...

Went to China recently for a 24 day holiday, with only this camera (and my girlfriend with her WX1). Was a bit worried about not bringing a DSLR, but the resulting images was very, very nice and the small size made it very easy to travel with and very unobtrusive in a crowd...

For some reason they dont sell the dsc-w380 in the US.

Philscbx

macrumors regular
Jan 4, 2007
Mpls Mn
Any other suggestions.
YouTube HD content of the Panasonic ZS3 for USA, or the same unit in the UK as the TZ7.
I purchased 6 of these, and everyone is total amazed at the quality, and it fits in your pocket.
They came out last spring at $400, and now have dropped about $50, maybe more.

If you in anyway you don't like it, I'll buy it.
I got all of mine at National Camera.
One is never enough at wedding or party.