Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Macrimonious

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 18, 2008
Hi, I'm a total newb (but not an idiot) and I'm looking for a reference that will provide a basic groundwork to digital photography.

I'm looking at the Scott Kelby books and the "for dummies" books.

How did you all get to be the great photogs you are?

I know, I know, get out there and shoot and learn in the field. I plan on doing that. But I'd like a desktop reference as well.

I appreciate your help.

Thanks.

luminosity

macrumors 65816
Jan 10, 2006
Arizona
Michael Freeman has a couple great books out there (not to be confused with John Freeman, who is another author of photography books).

One is "The Photographer's Eye," and the other is "The Perfect Exposure," which is very new.

Acsom

macrumors regular
Jul 10, 2009
This is a tough call, because most reference works don't really mean anything until you understand what is going on with photography, and once you understand what is going on with photography you don't really need the reference works.

Understanding Exposure is a must-have, IMO. It is one I keep going back to.

The Freeman books that I have read, The Photographer's Eye and Mastering Color Digital Photography, are excellent, but in my opinion they are not very useful to a beginner. I couldn't say about his others, I haven't read them.

I have Kelby's Digital Photography, both volumes 1 and 2. I like them; his informal style fits with mine. Lots of people don't like his style, but I do. I also prefer his books on Lightroom and Photoshop to the more scholarly works. Kelby describes his manner to be as if he were standing there advising you on how to get a particular shot. You understand how to get the results, then work it backward to understand the theory. Results oriented is good for a beginner, I think.