Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheatreLD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 9, 2009
Chicagoland, IL
Heya, I've been a lurker of the forum for a little while and just decided to take the plunge and register to ask a question...

I'm a lighting designer for a lot of live entertainment such as stage plays, concerts, dance, etc and I'm trying to figure out the best way to document my work. [All of the photography would of course be approved by the producing agents, fellow designers, etc - my goal is to get good enough shots that they'll ask for or even buy mine, too!] So basically I need to create dramatic, solid shots.

I am often shooting in low lighting conditions, and don't always have the luxury of photo calls (staged photo shoots) to get pictures. I need to take pictures that accurately reflect the colors and lighting levels of the scene without having to tinker with the lighting levels to any great extent. I don't usually need or want "close ups" but more mid-range and wider shots that encompass the whole scene, often with some very subtle looks or dancers moving quickly in dramatic light.

So far it seems like I get decent shots of the people, but lose the backgrounds, which are clearly visible to the eye, in the photos.

I have a Canon Digital Rebel XSi that's still pretty new to me and so far only have the stock lens (EF-S 18-55 IS) that came with it.

I've been doing some research and the gist I'm getting is that I need fast lens with a wide aperture. I've been looking at this lens because it's pretty much in my price range. Is this a solid choice or are there better options out there for the price?

Do you guys have any experience shooting live events and/or any insight to offer? I recognize that there isn't a magic bullet that will solve all my problems, but I would love to be pointed in the right direction.

Thanks!

jons

macrumors 6502
Apr 24, 2008