Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ProwlingTiger

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
I've had no experience selling used equipment. I'm only semi-pro, so it's not like I have much. But all the same, I'd like to get the maximum value for my equipment which I baby like my Mac.

I've tried price quotes. Adorama has still not answered but B&H was terribly low, considering the condition of my equipment. I've tried Craigslist,....that resulted in a lot of scam emails. And no local offers on there, not much interest where I live.

I'm trying to keep eBay auctioning as a last resort, as the going price on there seems to be slightly lower than what I'm comfortable with. Irks me too, as I just watched a 40D body go for less than $700, which I happen to be in the market for.

But I have to sell one of my other cameras first. I'm thinking of selling my Sony Alpha (not high end so nothing too special) not to make a profit, just to offload it, then put more money towards the 40D for a 2nd body.

I thought I'd consult with my fellow Macrumors friends about their selling tactics and what you have best luck with. Is there another site out there I should be looking at?

And if I find a site, is it wise to ask to do the transaction through eBay? A lot of scammers seem to ask for Paypal id to "send payment," which I've been trained not to do via email.

Thanks for any advice,
-Dan

luminosity

macrumors 65816
Jan 10, 2006
Arizona
eBay.

I've had good success selling items through it. I got over $400 for my 60mm AF-S 2.8, which is close to what it was going for at the time via Amazon. Now it would probably fetch more, given that Nikon's prices went up.

synth3tik

macrumors 68040
Oct 11, 2006
Minneapolis, MN