Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fireplace

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 29, 2007
London
Hi all, SLR newbie here so be patient.

I've had a 400D for a couple of weeks an am loving it but I'd like to know what is best for a relative numpty for editing JPEG an RAW on a Mac.

I was very pleasantly surprised that iphoto 08 (which does run on my 12" powerbook G4 unlike imovie :() can read and edit JPEG an RAW unlike my windoze laptop which can't.

Is iphoto enough to begin with? and where to go from there - any good free apps or straight into one of the better-known packages?

ta muchly:apple:

Jan 30, 2006
I just bought a D40x, and I am finding aperture to be a great program to edit photos and keep them organized.

What I like about Aperture is the non-destructive editing. iPhoto made a new file from each time you edited a photo. Even rotating and image would produce a new file.

But try iPhoto. And be sure to download the trials of both Aperture and Lightroom. I like Aperture better, Lightroom seems to complicated for me.

The only thing I am not sure is how well would Aperture run in your Powerbook.

Virgil-TB2

macrumors 65816
Aug 3, 2007
Hi all, SLR newbie here so be patient.

I've had a 400D for a couple of weeks an am loving it but I'd like to know what is best for a relative numpty for editing JPEG an RAW on a Mac.

I was very pleasantly surprised that iphoto 08 (which does run on my 12" powerbook G4 unlike imovie :() can read and edit JPEG an RAW unlike my windoze laptop which can't.

Is iphoto enough to begin with? and where to go from there - any good free apps or straight into one of the better-known packages?

ta muchly:apple: