Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Glama

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 5, 2009
Viewing photos full size is necessary for evaluating how sharp the focus is, and other technical aspects. Preview brings up photos in a scaled-down size as the default, and hitting command-0 for every picture to see it full-size is a pain. Is there a way to make Preview shows pics full-size as the default? Or is there a better viewer for quickly clicking through the photos in a folder and seeing them full-size instead of scaled to fit the screen?

Cliff3

macrumors 68000
Nov 2, 2007
SF Bay Area
Did you explore the preferences options for Preview? :confused:

Attachments

• Picture 4.png
    Picture 4.png
    40.1 KB · Views: 65

Glama

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 5, 2009
Thanks. As a Mac newbie, I searched all the other menus, but didnt look under "preview".

Cliff3

macrumors 68000
Nov 2, 2007
SF Bay Area
Thanks. As a Mac newbie, I searched all the other menus, but didnt look under "preview".

The preferences settings can always be found on the application menu, whichever application that might be. The keyboard shortcut to open that dialog is always command + , (comma).

localghost

macrumors regular
Nov 17, 2002
i would still like to know about other apps - preview always displays the pix in the wrong order (= not like the finder, if you open more of them at the same time)

Pomeroy

macrumors 6502
Sep 27, 2008
Missouri
i would still like to know about other apps - preview always displays the pix in the wrong order (= not like the finder, if you open more of them at the same time)

I use Xee for somethings too. but if you want to sort Preview you can do it.

When you open several image files in one window, that window’s sidebar contains a thumbnail image for each file. You can change the sorting order and the size of the thumbnail images.

Found in the Preview Help menu..