Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kudukudu

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 24, 2007
Could anyone comment on whether one of these makes more sense than the other? I am an amateur who has about 30 shoots a year with about 1000 photos (vacations, snapshots, landscapes) and I want to come up with a fairly streamlined directory structure. I have thought of the following two and I am not sure if there is any practical difference between them since I am still struggling with some of apertures concepts:

<year> (blue folder)
--> <shoot1> (project folder)
--> <shoot2> (project folder)

or

<year> (project folder)
--> <shoot1> (album folder)
--> <shoot2> (album folder)

I plan to add keywords as I import and then create appropriate smart folders to easily get at anything I need.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Could anyone comment on whether one of these makes more sense than the other? I am an amateur who has about 30 shoots a year with about 1000 photos (vacations, snapshots, landscapes) and I want to come up with a fairly streamlined directory structure. I have thought of the following two and I am not sure if there is any practical difference between them since I am still struggling with some of apertures concepts:

<year> (blue folder)
--> <shoot1> (project folder)
--> <shoot2> (project folder)

or

<year> (project folder)
--> <shoot1> (album folder)
--> <shoot2> (album folder)

I plan to add keywords as I import and then create appropriate smart folders to easily get at anything I need.

Each shoot simply goes inside its own project and that is it. A "project" is a set of images all downloaded from the camera's memory card at once. Aperture uses the term "Project" to means what you are calling "shoot". In either case it means a related group of photos all shot near each other in time.

Then later if you like to organize by year you make smart folders such