Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

crazydreaming

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
I badly need a tripod, but not ready to spend $300 plus on a tripod yet. Just need something to get me started that will get the job done. I shoot with a D200, so need something that will be stable with the weight. My other wish is something that can reasonably be carried on a backpack, hiking, skiing, etc. It doesn't have to be superlight, but weight is important.
Recommendations?

Preclaro_tipo

macrumors regular
Dec 6, 2003
West Lafayette, IN
Wal-Mart

I am no tripod expert but for my needs I wanted it to be as cheap as possible. So, I bought one at Wal-Mart, I think it was 30 bucks?? (25??). Really dirt cheap, I remember thinking at the time.

I am very impressed with what it was, it has two levels, the round one for leveling the tripod itself and the bar type one for leveling the camera mount part.

it has a hook at the bottom of the center pole thing, so you can hang your bag/backpack/weight to keep it steady. it has and extra mount (they are quick release) so you can switch cameras quickly. It seems well-made, sturdy, the "head" part where the camera mounts rotates smoothly.

I don't know what else to say, other than, 30 bucks, it definitely gives $30 in value to me.

I am not sure what else one would need in a tripod? (i am a bit curious)

SpAtZ

macrumors regular
Feb 3, 2006
NY
I use the Slik Sprint Pro SL with my 300d. It is 19inches long and if find it easy to carry around and very durable. It legs extend very well and has macro features. Pretty light at 1.9 pounds. Carbon Fiber might be lighter, but will be much more expensive. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/con...s&Q=&sku=278545&is=REG&addedTroughType=search

Don't go for a 30 dollar tripod, most of them will never support your camera's weight, especially if it has a plastic head.

Silentwave

macrumors 68000
May 26, 2006
crazydreaming said: