Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Silverzz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2020
I need to replacement of my MacBook and need it urgently for work reasons. My budget right now only can be either a mac book air 2017 or a mac book pro 2015. I have never used mac book airs before...but obviously it would be newer...but which is a better purchase if the price was around the same? any advice?

velocityg4

macrumors 604
Dec 19, 2004
Georgia
The Macbook Air 2017 is the same model as the Macbook Air 2015. They just adjusted the base specs. It's still all the same generation parts inside. The Macbook Pro is faster with a vastly superior screen and more ports.

I've got the 13" MBP 2015 and think it's great. Even though my battery capacity is down to about 70% of original. The battery life is still superb for my needs.

Silverzz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2020
I plan on upgrading to a newer mac book pro in about a year or so. Do you think a mac book air 2017 would resell better than an older pro 2015? and when you say faster...is it something significant that would affect my work? I do digital marketing project management. I just have no experience with air to understand if it affects what I do...have always had pros.

startergo

macrumors 601
Sep 20, 2018
I need to replacement of my MacBook and need it urgently for work reasons. My budget right now only can be either a mac book air 2017 or a mac book pro 2015. I have never used mac book airs before...but obviously it would be newer...but which is a better purchase if the price was around the same? any advice?
How can a budget be equal to a model? I thought budget is equal to price? What are you willing to spend?

velocityg4

macrumors 604
Dec 19, 2004
Georgia