Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mag2001

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 24, 2007
San Antonio, TX
I am new to the dslr world. what are some good tips on getting started. any websites I can go to for advice. Also is there anything elseI need to buy?
Thank in advanced.:D

carlgo

macrumors 68000
Dec 29, 2006
Monterey CA
After a hot day, or a cold one, of shooting you will need to wash your clothes. I have a washer and dryer for sale, work like new. And, some new beautiful vinyl flooring that would be perfect for a darkroom floor:rolleyes:

One interesting site that I like is kenrockwell.com. Seems to be realistic.

taylorwilsdon

macrumors 68000
Nov 16, 2006
New York City
After a hot day, or a cold one, of shooting you will need to wash your clothes. I have a washer and dryer for sale, work like new. And, some new beautiful vinyl flooring that would be perfect for a darkroom floor:rolleyes:

One interesting site that I like is kenrockwell.com. Seems to be realistic.

Ken Rockwell? Really? Each to their own, I guess.

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
IAlso is there anything elseI need to buy?

Beyond the basics, you don't know what you really need till you've taken a few hundred pictures. Why anticipate? Keep shooting with the gear you have until you reach the point of frustration: ie "I could get the shots I want if only I had a new lens, or a flashgun, or a tripod"...

Don't spend money on things you MIGHT need; wait until you can't do without them...

Shoot loads of pix. Experiment. Have fun... :)

srf4real

macrumors 68040
Jul 25, 2006
paradise beach FL
is there anything else I need to buy?:D