Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

paulobrad

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 30, 2007
UK
I'm pretty new to DSLR photography, recently bought my first - Canon 450D. Bought a 2GB SD card for it and basically went for the cheapest as I thought "an SD card is an SD card - right?".

After a busy session in my local park suddenly I was told the card wasn't formatted and lost all my hard work. Am I just unlucky or did I scrimp and now paying the price? If so, what brands are recommended?

rweakins

macrumors 6502
May 3, 2007
the brand to me has never made a difference. you just have to format it before you use it.

CMD is me

macrumors 6502
Dec 7, 2006
I stick with Sandisk Ultra. Its very reliable and easy to find good deals. If you have a Costco nearby the 2gb 2 pk runs $34.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
I'm pretty new to DSLR photography, recently bought my first - Canon 450D. Bought a 2GB SD card for it and basically went for the cheapest as I thought "an SD card is an SD card - right?".

After a busy session in my local park suddenly I was told the card wasn't formatted and lost all my hard work. Am I just unlucky or did I scrimp and now paying the price? If so, what brands are recommended?

There aren't a gazillion factories churning out cards, so you're pretty-much going to deal with cards from one of a small number of plants. The differences come in testing and materials. All in all, I normally stick near the middle of the pack- high enough that I'm not getting somone's rejects, low enough that I'm not paying a premium. When I go downmarket, it's generally after doing a fair bit or research- for instance, Transcend seemed like a good play when I got their cards last time I wanted cards.

John T

macrumors 68020
Mar 18, 2006
UK.
Originally I was a Sandisk fan. However, I've now now found Transcend cards to be of excellent quality and a lot cheaper!