Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hls811

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2004
New Jersey
Ok - I've decided to post this here instead on one of the Digital Camera specific forums because I think you all will be more impartial. :)

Anyway - I have a Canon S3 IS digital camera which I use for sporting events and places I go where I don't mind carrying a camera. I also have a Canon Powershot 800IS for portablity and taking with me when I don't feel like carrying anything bigger.

Anyway - I've had a bunch of Ultra-Zoom point and shoots in the past, Canon, Olympus, Panasonic, Kodak, etc... and am wondering if its time to take the plunge into a lower priced DSLR. The only problem is - I currently rely on auto settings and pre-sets to much and don't really know what all the controls on a camera mean! I try to play with them the best I can, and I have a good concept of it, but I'm by no means an expert....

From what I've been reading a DSLR would definately produce better results than my current Canon (or any non-SLR) -especially because I'm mainly using it for live sporting events and fast action - but at the same time - without having auto settings and pre-set modes to fall back on, is it worth switching?

Opinions?

srf4real

macrumors 68040
Jul 25, 2006
paradise beach FL
I haven't switched yet either, but now that I have the Lumix fz50 I may not... I enjoy having a 420mm zoom without three feet of lenses attatched, much more flexibility and waaaay less expensive! I almost got the Rebel xTi starter kit instead, I felt it was the best product at the best price in dSlr offerings, but I'm stoked I got the Panasonic instead. Definitely gotta learn how to adjust the settings or a dSlr will be useless for you anyways.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate