Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

motownflip

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 24, 2007
First of all, I am a noob when it comes to dslr's. I'm buying this camera based on months of reading reviews and other peoples feedback. What I want to know is what would you recommend for lenses?

I will be using this camera to shoot mostly indoors. Dogs, people, etc. Saying that, I also would like to take this camera on vacation. I go to Cabo San Lucas yearly, so the beach and ocean will be my target there. We get to see some whales while there and a lot of family vacation with us.

Thanks in advance for your replies!

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
The 18-70 or 18-135 "kit" lens would do everything you need. It is best to start there. For whales the 135 is better. For indoor shots a faster prime lens is always good. The 50mm f/1.8 is a great value. I find the my 85mm is to long to use inside smaller rooms unless I want just a "head shot". a 35mm prime would be nice but the 50mm is both cheaper and faster.

Start with one of Nikon's "kit" lenses then after a thousand or two frames you will know what shots you missed. Buy a second lens to get those shots. But if you shoot indoors you may find you want an SB600 speedlight more than you want a second lens. The D80's built-in flash works but all built-in flashes are in the exact worst place, right over the lens. The external lets you bounce the light.

First of all, I am a noob when it comes to dslr's. I'm buying this camera based on months of reading reviews and other peoples feedback. What I want to know is what would you recommend for lenses?