Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vicious1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 22, 2004
Ok, I took this shot in the Tokyo Fishmarket and sent it to a friend because I think it came out nicely. In turn it got put on stumbleupon and has had several hundred hits and thumbs up.

While i am happy that people seem to like it, I keep thinking there is something that needs to be improved on it but I can't put my finger on it. I think the overall mood is good but i am just a noob so I would like to get proper criticism, not just a thumbs up or down :)

//vic
PS: for those interested, shot with a D90 and 50mm prime at f1.8

Attachments

• _DSC0253.jpg
    _DSC0253.jpg
    268.9 KB · Views: 125

vicious1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 22, 2004
finally someone...

hey thanks... good point hmmm you think cropping the bottom part away might be better?
I do want the tuna to be distinguishable in the picture still but yes you are right about the block.

//vic

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
Hmm, since you asked for CnC, I'm not sure why people gives several thumbs up for this picture?

Cause I don't really find any interesting in this picture except for the bell and the perspective (the angle of the blue box thingy adds perspective). I dunno, maybe its just me :rolleyes:

Sorry.

Edit:
Well since you mentioned that you want the tuna to be distinguishable, try taking in a way that the tuna stands out, and since there is a lot of tuna there, avoid any objects that is colored cause it will draw the eyes toward the colored object instead of the tuna unless you deliberately want it to be that way

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America