Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

~~Hello~~

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 27, 2007
Hi everyone!

I was pondering on buying a digital camera before the year is out. I'm really unsure what sort of camera I would want. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to digital photography, I can just about operate a camera, but have never had the pleasure of owning a half decent camera.

I don't think I'm ever going to be the worlds greatest photographer. Really I want a good quality camera, preferably under £500 (not sure what that would be in dollars)

So really a camera that takes nice sharp pictures. If I owned a camera there may also be the chance of me photographing old documents. Other than that I'd just be using it when I go out. I don't want anything really big and bulky either.

Can anyone think of anything that would fit in with my requirements? :)

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Hi everyone!

I was pondering on buying a digital camera before the year is out. I'm really unsure what sort of camera I would want. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to digital photography, I can just about operate a camera, but have never had the pleasure of owning a half decent camera.

I don't think I'm ever going to be the worlds greatest photographer. Really I want a good quality camera, preferably under £500 (not sure what that would be in dollars)

So really a camera that takes nice sharp pictures. If I owned a camera there may also be the chance of me photographing old documents. Other than that I'd just be using it when I go out. I don't want anything really big and bulky either.

Can anyone think of anything that would fit in with my requirements? :)