Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

i-sidd

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 27, 2006
Hi guys,

I got a canon xsi a few weeks ago and this is my first dslr. I also have a canon sd630 P&S. I am new to photography and I feel like the dslr is inconvenient to carry around. I am a casual photographer, take pics of family, vacations, indoor parties etc. I am still within the return period and I feel like I should return the dslr and get a G11 or S90 or something.

dslr have great IQ but I think I am not getting them. Also, buying lens adds to the cost, and with G11 I get 5X zoom.

So should I return the dslr or how can I get a lens which covers wide to decent zoom without breaking the bank.

here is my flickr stream if anyone is interested and can see how I am not being able to get the best out of the dslr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sid369/

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
A DSLR is certainly inconvenient to carry around. So if what you want is a pocket camera that can be on you at all times, then perhaps a DSLR is not the right type of camera for you. Granted, there are some DSLRs on the market now that are much smaller than an XSi, but if want any kind of zoom lens, they'll still be larger than a G11. However, would you really carry the G11 around all the time?

As for getting the most out of your camera: it does require some reading and practice. If you decide to keep the camera, you can get lots of good advice on this forum to help you advance your skills. There are several very good books on the market to help people like you, and folks here will happily recommend them.

I think the first decision you need to make is whether you prefer convenience or quality. If you will never want to bring your DSLR anywhere, then it doesn't matter how much you can or can't get out of it.

Tumbleweed666

macrumors 68000
Mar 20, 2009
Near London, UK.