Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sansa11

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 28, 2008
I was doing some browsing in Best Buy earlier today and I noticed the Canon Powershot G10. It looked and felt incredibly nice in my hands and I felt comfortable taking pictures on it.

I am an absolute beginner in the area of photography and am still trying to comprehend the differences of aperture and exposures. The norman P&S camera I have just isn't working out for me because it has no real manual settings, and I want to experiment new things.

Is this a good camera for absolute beginners or should I go with something else?

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
The G10 is a fine camera. The image quality will not be as good as a basic SLR like the Nikon D40, Olympus E420 or Canon EOS 1000D. If you want small, I'm sure it'll be fine. I personally would get one of the SLRs. Then again, the best camera is the one you've got with you.

I'm sure someone else will give you more thorough advice.

vorkorsigan

macrumors member
Sep 6, 2008
Toronto
If you want to learn about semi-auto and manual modes without the bulk of an SLR then it's fine. But, it is best as a second smaller camera to your SLR. The picture quality will never be as good as an SLR in the same hands.

You need to decide what you want to do to make a choice. If you really want to learn photography then an SLR is best. If you want to take snaps and occasionally spend time to take a shot in AP or Man etc then G10 is a great camera.

PS I steal my wife's 400D when the G10 just won't do it. Usually in low light. But she wants the G10 in good light!

UMHurricanes34

macrumors 65816
Sep 13, 2005
Atlanta, GA
The G10 is pure convenience. An amazing camera in an amazing package. I'd love to have one on me at all times. It's extremely difficult to carry around a large and bulky DSLR with multiple lenses everywhere.