Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Smileyguy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 29, 2004
Hi everyone,

I posted a thread somewhat similar to this a few months back, but I want to bring it up again now as I wasn't too sure what I was looking for back then and am more certain now.

My question is very simple (I think!). I work as a freelance journalist and have some experience of print design as well. I've long had an interest in photography and this is now becoming much stronger, to the point where I'm becoming strongly attracted to the idea of trying to get into it professionally, or at least as a serious amateur (first steps first, of course).

Of course, I don't think it would be wise to go out and buy an expensive, professional standard camera right away, and besides, I couldn't afford to anyway. So I'm looking to buy a quality digital camera that will enable to me to become a good amateur photographer, experiment, and decide if I want to become more serious or not. My main interest is outdoor/nature photography. I'm looking for something with a high resolution that will enable me to produce print quality images, that I can blow up a bit if possible.

I previous owned a Canon Powershot - I think it was the G3, or one of that series - and I absolutely loved it. It produced great images - and had a fantastic x10 optical zoom - and because of this I wanted to take photos as all the time, which made learning and experimenting fun and easy. Unfortunately it went missing after I let a colleague borrow it. :mad: