Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

angemon89

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Feb 5, 2008
Northern CA
I am no camera expert so please be gentle if this is a dumb question. :D

I have a Canon SD1100 IS camera. Sometimes I want to take pictures in low light settings without the flash, but the pictures come out too dark.

For example, sometimes I want to take a picture indoors (in the day time) without flash. So the rooms is filled with medium day light. When I look at the LCD of the camera the room looks pretty bright, but when I go to take the picture it comes out darker than what I just saw in the LCD before I took it.

Is there any way to capture the picture without it automatically turning darker when the camera focuses? I want that natural daylight without the picture being dark.

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
What you're going to want to do is look up in your manual how to set up "Exposure compensation", you're probably going to want to set it to +1 or +2 depending on how under exposed the pictures are. But another problem that you're most likely going to run into is that there is not enough light for the camera to get a picture without it being blurry (ie the shutter speed not being fast enough).

angemon89

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Feb 5, 2008
Northern CA
Awesome, I just took some test pictures with the exposure at 0, then at +1. It came out much nicer at +1. Thank you sir.

Attachments

• IMG_0079.JPG
    IMG_0079.JPG
    205.1 KB · Views: 78
  • IMG_0080.JPG
    IMG_0080.JPG
    188.6 KB · Views: 57

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I think maybe the camera's automatic exposure system is choosing to under ex[pose the image rather than use a slow shutter sedd and risk blurring the image.