Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Smileyguy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 29, 2004
Hi guys,

Need a little advice urgently re: a camera. I'm a journalist in the process of starting a new website (which I've discussed here:https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/605231/) I really want to be able to take pictures and video on the move (be it at certain events or just when the opportunity strikes), and to this end for the last week or so I've been researching the best camera/video phones within my budget range (Nokia N82, LG Viewty, Samsung Tocco & G800, SE K850i) of about €200-€250 max. The reason I've been going the phone route is because I've reasoned that I will ALWAYS carry my phone, so I'll always have a camera on me.

However, having seen sample photos and video I haven't exactly been overwhelmed by the quality of the options out there, so I've been starting to think this evening about maybe getting an ultra compact camera with decent video capabilities (presuming such a thing exists?). Trouble is this is a Christmas gift and if I'm going to have to order online I need to decide right away. So I have the following questions:

1) Has anyone decided before between a camera phone and an ultra compact digicam, and if so how did it work out?
2) Does anyone out there carry a camera with them at all times, and is it a habit that's easy to develop?
3) Are there any ultra compact cameras out there with decent video capabilities?
4) Also, if anyone has any thoughts on any of the camera phones I mentioned, that would be great.

To be honest the more I think about it the more I lean towards going the phone route - I'm favouring the Sony Ericsson K850i. That would mean I could buy a proper SLR-like or SLR camera in the future to take to when I know it will be needed, and use the phone on the move.

Any advice would really appreciated,

SG

Smileyguy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 29, 2004