Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wwwdotcomdotnet

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 27, 2007
A few weeks ago I got an Olympus Evolt E510 and I'm loving it. Its my first DSLR, but I am no newbie when it comes to photography.

Right now I am having issues with taking pictures at an indoor skatepark with fairly poor fluorescent lighting. As you can imaging the subject is moving quickly. I do not have an external flash yet, and do not plan on getting one for a few months at least. The pictures I have been taking are extremely yellow in balance and the majority of them are blurry. Using a tripod is not an option as well because I often have to move to get out of the way quickly.

I am taking the pictures at 1/40-1/60sec, with a normal f adjustment, and upping the flash intensity to +0.3. Can anyone recommend camera settings or let me know what I am doing wrong?

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
What is the maximum aperture of the lens you are using? It sounds like you need a faster one. I'd have thought you need to get into the 1/xxx range at least to get crisp images.

wwwdotcomdotnet

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 27, 2007
I don't recall off the top of my head, but I was using slower shutter speeds because anything over 1/100 would not allow enough light into the lense and thus made my pictures dark or completely black. I'm thinking I can't get a faster shutter speed to work because the built in flash is too weak?

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
I don't recall off the top of my head, but I was using slower shutter speeds because anything over 1/100 would not allow enough light into the lense and thus made my pictures dark or completely black. I'm thinking I can't get a faster shutter speed to work because the built in flash is too weak?