Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gloor

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2007
Hi guys,

I was wondering whether or not I would be able to achieve one of these effects by using basic kit of D90 (18-105). I don't have any accessories so only things you can find at home. Is it even possible?

I was thinking of shooting at night with just one light from above (lamp) that could get closer to this but not sure if that would work and don't think my gf would like to spend hours with me fiddling stuff :)

So, can I do it and if so, could you please tell me how so I can test it out? If you could be specific it would really help as I am a complete beginner but this is something I like doing so its my first step.

If I can't do it from what I have then what do I need to buy/get in order to get there? If I really need to get something then I would like to get accessories that are good quality but also good value - nothing too cheap and nothing too expensive (unless its a must and will last me for a long time) :)))

The effect I'm after is that you isolate the object and there is only black behind it or one half is visible the other is in the shadow. Ideally, I would like my gf sitting with her back towards camera with a slight angle in her head to see some of the face and I would like to have that part to be visible and then going slightly in the shadow/black. Can I do it with the camera I have? Is it really hard?

Here are some examples of what I'm after. I hope you don't mind me asking so specifically :)

Attachments

• 20073_296192445792_183095760792_3827108_6867154_n.jpg
    20073_296192445792_183095760792_3827108_6867154_n.jpg
    16.9 KB · Views: 136
  • 20073_291141355792_183095760792_3806502_286470_n.jpg
    20073_291141355792_183095760792_3806502_286470_n.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 105
  • 5410_123500683587_100695198587_2267068_3120647_n.jpg