Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

beachball doom

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 1, 2016
Hi

My girlfriend has a macbook pro, second hand which she has been using for several years.

I am preparing to update the harddrive and I thought I would test to see if it would boot from the new harddrive externally. Booted with option key down and voila - firmware password box.

I've been using macs for many years and I didn't know this was even a thing.

Should I go ahead and install the new harddrive internally or will the firmware password box come up?

What other limitations does the firmware lock impose on this machine?

Are there any ways to override the lock? ie hardware tweaks?

This is a second-hand machine and there is essentially no way of contacting the original owner, and of course even if we did they may not know or remember the firmware pw.

btw this is a 15" mid2012, mbp 9,1 model

chscag

macrumors 601
Feb 17, 2008
Fort Worth, Texas
Remove one of the ram sticks and boot while holding down command+option+p+r. This will clear nvram.

That may or may not work depending on the age of the MacBook Pro. For the past 5 years or so, that method of removing the firmware password does not work. The only sure way is taking it to Apple with the original receipt or bill of sale and your ID. In other words, you must prove ownership first. Apple will then remove the firmware password.

He can try what you said first, but since it's a 2012 model, it may have to be brought to Apple before the firmware password can be removed.

Reactions: Audit13

beachball doom

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 1, 2016
Thanks for the help. There is no receipt as this is a second hand mac, so I'm doubtful apple is going to bother, and they would probably charge rather a lot I would think. However I will look into it.