Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JGS312

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2022
I am trying to make a decision if it is finally time to have only one device. As a teacher, I have had a MacBook Pro and an iPad pro for the last few years. With the new iPadOS 16 and the promise of stage manager changing the game with external monitors, I am thinking it is time to try. I know the iPad Pro is not necessarily at the point of being a full Mac replacement, however, I have barely used my MacBook. Is there anyone else who is currently working with the iPad Pro only without a Mac? If so, what are the positives and negatives?

outlawarth

macrumors 6502a
Mar 20, 2011
You will get a wide variety of opinions. Some that can’t live without their macs and others that do everything on their iPads. It’s a very difficult question to answer as it‘s very unique to each individual’s needs. As for me I do 99% of things on my 12.9 iPad. Things like browsing, email, file management, budgeting in Excel, keeping in touch with co-workers via MS teams, FaceTime, etc.

I do have a windows laptop issued by my employer for the situations when I need to access windows legacy systems. But other than that it’s iPad all the way for me and it has now even crossed over into my professional life as well.

The positives? The versatility and the portability of the iPad. The negatives? Can’t think of any at the moment but I would say maybe not having a full fledged filing system (although the files app has improved).

Last edited:
Reactions: Kobra

JGS312

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2022