Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

furious

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 7, 2006
Australia
Canon 400d with EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8? or 40d enthusiast pack. What would be the better package as an introduction into SLR photography?

Canon 400d with EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8:

Pros
- Great lens
- $150 dollars cheap. Means I could get a tripod.

Cons
- 400d body feels cheap to me
- Will the 400d body last the 4 or more years I expect it to?

40d enthusiast pack (comes with EF-S 17-85 f/4-5.6)

Pros
- I have held the 30d and it feels more comfortable in my hands than a 400d. I would expect the same from the 40d.
- Better body

Cons
- Not a fast lens

Both lens have IS and USM.

Now I have been using a P&S camera for about 2 years and feel it is time to step up. Both packages are easily within my budget. It really is a question of will a cheaper body and better lens serve me better, in your opinion, than a better body and a slightly slower lens.

What will I be using the camera for. Landscapes and nature photography at first but as I get better I would like to try macro as well as some commercial type photography.

Is it unreasonable to expect the Body's of either camera to last 4 years? I personally am ok with either lens. I know you guys get a lot of similar questions so be kind.

taylorwilsdon

macrumors 68000
Nov 16, 2006
New York City
Not considering Nikon?

Everything taken into account, the D80 is a much better all around camera then the 400d. The 40d ought to be a smack better then said D80, but for the money it can't be topped by any of Canons offerings.

I say this as I own goodies from both sides of the fence, so don't take any fanboyism into account.

furious

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 7, 2006
Australia
I already have access to a library of canon lenses if I need to. So going Nikon would cost me more in the long run.

840quadra

Staff member
Feb 1, 2005
Twin Cities Minnesota