Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Coheebuzz

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 10, 2005
Nicosia, Cyprus
Hi guys and good evening

I've been busting my head for a week now over this but still can't decide what to get, so i decided to turn to MR.

I've been saving up for the 70-200 f4 L IS for a while but now that i finally have the cash am having a few second thoughts. The problem is that the non-IS version costs almost as half, and with the spare money i can also get the 100mm f2.8 macro that i really, really like.

So i want to ask people who have used both lenses, is the IS really worth the $500? I've never used a lens with stabilization before so i can't form an opinion. It will be a while until i'll be able to afford another lens so i want to make the choice i won't regret.

So can you flip the coin for me?

70-200mm f4 plus 100mm macro or 70-200mm f4 IS?

Thanks!

Rickay726

macrumors 6502
Dec 29, 2005
New Jersey
Hi guys and good evening

I've been busting my head for a week now over this but still can't decide what to get, so i decided to turn to MR.

I've been saving up for the 70-200 f4 L IS for a while but now that i finally have the cash am having a few second thoughts. The problem is that the non-IS version costs almost as half, and with the spare money i can also get the 100mm f2.8 macro that i really, really like.

So i want to ask people who have used both lenses, is the IS really worth the $500? I've never used a lens with stabilization before so i can't form an opinion. It will be a while until i'll be able to afford another lens so i want to make the choice i won't regret.

So can you flip the coin for me?

70-200mm f4 plus 100mm macro or 70-200mm f4 IS?

Thanks!

i have the 70-200mmf4 non is i like it alot its perfect i have herd from many people that the IS version is nothing spectactular.