Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chrismccorkle

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 13, 2006
I'm an intermediate photographer (in skill, not equipment) and I'm on the search for a 50mm f/1.8 lens for my Canon EOS 350D (aka Digital Rebel XT) and I can't find any for the life of me... Every search I make, be it on amazon.com, bhphotovideo.com, or even google, I can not find an AF 50mm f/1.8 lens. All I find are EF ones... now as far as I know, these have a different mount setup. Am I right? I have an AF->EF mount for my 350D, but it's weird and the corrective lens isn't very good.

I saw a poster here where they used a 50mm EF lens on a 30D. It confused me.

Am I missing something? Can I easily put the EF lens on my digital camera? What do I need?

Music_Producer

macrumors 68000
Sep 25, 2004
chrismccorkle said:
I'm an intermediate photographer (in skill, not equipment) and I'm on the search for a 50mm f/1.8 lens for my Canon EOS 350D (aka Digital Rebel XT) and I can't find any for the life of me... Every search I make, be it on amazon.com, bhphotovideo.com, or even google, I can not find an AF 50mm f/1.8 lens. All I find are EF ones... now as far as I know, these have a different mount setup. Am I right? I have an AF->EF mount for my 350D, but it's weird and the corrective lens isn't very good.

Am I missing something? Can I easily put the EF lens on my digital camera? What do I need?

You're kidding right? I mean, I'm not even a photographer, but I just went to the Canon website, and it clearly mentions that the Canon 350D is compatible with Canon EF lenses. So.. I kinda can't figure out what you're doing with an AF-EF mount in the first place, or looking for an AF lens.. :confused:

Silentwave

macrumors 68000
May 26, 2006
chrismccorkle said: