Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macdaddy121

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 8, 2003
Georgia
I am starting this thread because I am trying to purchase a new camera. I have had a couple of point and shoots over the past few years but starting in January I developed an obsession with photography and decided that I wanted to purchase a nice digital camera and begin photographing anything and everything. Currently I am an architecture student and I need to be able to take nice pictures of all of my projects but I also want to be able to take pictures of family, friends, buildings, landscapes.....everything pretty much. I know that their are much nicer cameras (the (practical) camera I really really want is the 30D).

However, I am trying to start off with an intro digital slr. I don't know much and I want a camera that I can play with (with not to many options to screw up) and I want to try and understand digital photography. I want to purchase a couple of nice lenses and in a year or two purchase a nice Canon body to use the lenses with.

My point is, I can get a brand new Digital Rebel XT (body only) for 549.95 from http://www.bhphotovideo.com

I am getting a slightly used kit lense from my professor who has a Canon 20D and a bunch of great lenses. He said he hardly ever uses the kit lense and will sell it to me for 50 bucks.

So........Does anyone have this camera? What are your thoughts? opinions? Any images you can share?

Thanks to everyone for helping me out and answering these questions and reading the thread.

NYVideoGuy

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2006