Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

downingp

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 26, 2006
I have heard that a good lens for taking portrait-like photos is to get a 50mm lens. I currently have a 28-135mm lens for my Canon 40D. Would I benefit in using a 50mm lens for taking pictures of my 12 month old son? If the 50mm is the way to go, is there a BIG difference in the 1.8 vs. 1.4? The f/1.4 seems to be 3x the price of the f/1.8. Is the cost difference worth it?
I am by no means a professional photographer, I just enjoy taking pictures.

Thanks for your input.

jaduffy108

macrumors 6502a
Oct 12, 2005
Hi,
Because of the APSC sensor on your 40D...a 50mm will be similar to a 77mm-ish on a full frame (FF) cam. Generally, the ideal FL range (*FF*) for portraits is 85-135...with 85 being very popular. So, the 50 gets you close to that range.

Since you're not depending on photography for income, I think you would be very happy with the 1.8 and saving the cash. It will be much sharper than your 28-135. The differences between the 1.8 and 1.4 are mostly subtleties in bokeh and such things. The return on investment for the 1.4 is very low for general photography imo.

The 1.8 will open many new creative possibilities too.

Enjoy!

CATinHAWAII

macrumors member
Aug 21, 2007
--== Hawaii ! ==--
Hi,
Because of the APSC sensor on your 40D...a 50mm will be similar to a 77mm-ish on a full frame (FF) cam. Generally, the ideal FL range (*FF*) for portraits is 85-135...with 85 being very popular. So, the 50 gets you close to that range.

Since you're not depending on photography for income, I think you would be very happy with the 1.8 and saving the cash. It will be much sharper than your 28-135. The differences between the 1.8 and 1.4 are mostly subtleties in bokeh and such things. The return on investment for the 1.4 is very low for general photography imo.