Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Eeden

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2008
I'm a beginner in Photography but I want to invest in a good camera, although I'm on a budget.

I'm looking at the Canon EOS 450D and the Nikon D80. What do you guys think is the best choice?
I want to use the camera mainly for landscapes, sports and portrets.

And then their is the choice which lenses I should get. Are the kitlenses ok? for example: CANON EOS 450D 18-55 mm IS kit + Tamron 70-300 Di LD Macro

Or is it better to buy a body and lenses separate? (maybe you have some advice which lenses are good for beginners?)

I will try to buy the camera second hand.

Thank you so much for your help

Yoursh

macrumors 6502
May 28, 2006
MN
I personally bought the 450D(XSi here in the US) about 2 months ago. Though both cameras are very good. I mostly went with he 450D because I preferred the grip as apposed to the Nikon's offerings. I would suggest handling both and see which you prefer. Ergonomics is an important factor in something you will be using a lot.

As for kit lenses, I can't tell you anything about the D80's but the 18-55 IS that comes with the 450D is a fine starter lens. It's not perfect, but it's the best value if you buy it with the camera. Locally it comes out to about $75USD with the camera versus $150USD on it's own. As for quality, here is a shot I took last night while I was playing with long exposure settings at 18mm...
2934369572_9e83431bb5_b.jpg

840quadra

Staff member
Feb 1, 2005
Twin Cities Minnesota
Nice Picture of Saint Paul MN

The kit lens being good or usefull is a matter of opinion. I try to look at it in the following light

- Will I use the focal range the kit lens provides?
- Will the cost savings of going body only make enough of a difference in cost for the lens i really want?