Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

eddx

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 12, 2005
Manchester, UK
I want an upgrade from my Canon compact as I am a very serious hobbyist photographer with an eye for part time professional work. My average shutter count on my Canon Powershot S60 (5 megapixels) is over 1,000 images a month.

Time for a D-SLR (heard it all about a million times before I know)

I need either a Nikon (preferable but expensive) or a Canon (cheaper but less "professional")

So why the Canon Rebel XTi (or 400D if your in the UK)...

Its 10 megapixels and takes Compact flash, which is the same card as my old system BUT I would need a new 2GB memory card anyway so thats in my budget. My dad has the original rebel (300D) and has a sigma 100-300mm zoom lens but the quality is very poor in the image it produces and the auto-focus on the lens is slow and inaccurate.

So why the Nikon D80...

Its also 10 megapixels but seems to have a better build (seperate LCD display for camera data for example). It takes SD cards which are cheaper but in general lenes cost a lot more, as do other add-ons and extras (which Nikon seems to have more of) like flash units and wireless / gps packs. I think I could afford this camera with the 35 - 135mm lens kit. (could be 55-135mm)

I may one day (after uni) be a full time professional photographer and want to invest in the right system from the start. I cant afford a Nikon D200 but could maybe push the budget for a Canon EOS 20D (but would have to get the basic lens. The pro photographers I know of all seem to use Nikon systems, only sports photographers and hobbists seem to be in the Canon camp.