Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

m-dogg

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 15, 2004
Connecticut
Hi All! I just recently made the jump to DSLR (Canon Rebel XT). I'm new to SLR's, though my fiance is experienced with them from her old film SLR days (and photog classes she took in high school/college). She will be helping to teach/explain the advanced features as we experiment with it, and we're both really excited about it.

I know most folks say to take time to use the lens that comes with your camera before buying any additional lenses. Normally, I would follow that advice, However, we will be going on a safari trip to Southern Africa at the end of this month and want to be prepared to get nice photos of wildlife which we may or may not be able to get too close to.

We are looking into investing in a telephoto zoom lens for this trip and I was wondering if anyone has any good recommendations? We'd ideally like to keep this under $500 since we have a ton of wedding expenses going on right now - Is that realistic for a decent lens?

Thanks for your help!

Bibulous

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2005
I have the Canon 70-200 f/4 that is right at $550, very nice lens. However I have a hard time getting crisp shots with it hand held at 200mm (320mm with 20D) and would recommend a lens with IS, either the new f/4 or the f/2.8 version, but maybe I just drink too much coffee and have bad technique.

Both of those are over $1000 (I have not used either one) but I would try to figure out a way to use one of those, buy used and sell it when you get back or rent one for the trip.

A South African Honeymoon Safari - sounds pretty cool

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
m-dogg said: