Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VanMac

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 26, 2005
Rampaging Tokyo
Hey.

I am getting close to purchasing a DSLR. I've had a point and shoot for a while (currently a SD550), but want 'more'.

I'm new to photography. I've just purchased the book "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson based on the recomendations on this board. So far the book is very good (just getting into it), and I've learned a lot already. It is getting me excited about photography.

I've held off on purchasing a decent camera to date just cause I really know very little about photography, but that will soon come to an end, so I intend on researching and purchasing shortly.

I've read many posts on "This Body vs That Body", and the main thing I've learned from people that seem to know what they are talking about is that I should choose my lens system first, and then get the body, so that is what I intend to do.

So, I will post it out to you all ..... What lense system should I go with ???
( I did a search, but could not find suitable post...sorry if covered)

I will try to answer some upfront questions:
- I wish to go with a Nikon or Canon body
- I have no existing lenses
- I do not intend to become a professional photographer
- I will shoot kids, family gatherings, landscapes, travel stuff
- I would like something I can build upon
- I appreciate quality, and dont mind spending a fair price to get it.

That's about it. Let me know if you need more info, or have any good suggestions. I did briefly play with a Nikon D80 and Canon 30D in the store. I seemed to like the feel of the Canon more, but I will need to spend some more time. Any suggestions on body appreciated as well. I can probably spend $3k for Body and Lens(es) to get going.

Thanks in advance.

Allstermac

macrumors member
Jan 17, 2007