Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hdsalinas

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 28, 2006
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Hi guys,

I have decided to get a canon XTI. I considered similar cameras from sony nikon and even canons G9 and decided that the XTI was right for me.

I will be using this camera for work. I am a freelance designer and I often find myself taking product shots for material that I design for my clients.

Of all of the cameras withing my budget ($500) that I reseached the XTI was the only one that had the ability to take pictures directly from my mac. This might be very useful as I do most of my shots in my home studio. Could anyone tell how good or bad canon's remote software works on a mac (leopard)? My second choice was a nikon d40x but it seems to lack this functionality. Could anyone confirm wether or not the nikons offer something similar?

Thanks for your repliess.

kkat69

macrumors 68020
Aug 30, 2007
Atlanta, Ga
Hi guys,

I have decided to get a canon XTI. I considered similar cameras from sony nikon and even canons G9 and decided that the XTI was right for me.

I will be using this camera for work. I am a freelance designer and I often find myself taking product shots for material that I design for my clients.

Of all of the cameras withing my budget ($500) that I reseached the XTI was the only one that had the ability to take pictures directly from my mac. This might be very useful as I do most of my shots in my home studio. Could anyone tell how good or bad canon's remote software works on a mac (leopard)? My second choice was a nikon d40x but it seems to lack this functionality. Could anyone confirm wether or not the nikons offer something similar?

Thanks for your repliess.

Nikon's camera control software costs about 150-175 bucks extra. Canon's come with the camera itself which is the main reason I went with the Canon XTI.