Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which MacBook should I get?

• The 13inch MacBook

Votes: 4 23.5%
  • The 15inch MacBook

Votes: 13 76.5%

• Total voters

Kuranji

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2015
Hello everyone,

In about two weeks I will be making the move from windows to mac. I've decided that I am getting a Macbook Pro. However, I'm having trouble deciding on which Macbook Pro to get, specifically between two configurations, which both of each will cost me about €2000:

Macbook Pro 13 inch (2015)
CPU: i5 2.9 GHz dual core
RAM: 16GB 1866-MHz
Storage: 256GB SSD
Graphics: Intel Iris Graphics 6100

Macbook Pro 15 inch (2015)
CPU: i5 2.2 GHz quad core
RAM: 16GB 1600-MHz
Graphics: Intel Iris Pro

What am I going to use the Macbook for?
I work as a website and application developer for a company, but in my free time I like to develop websites and apps as well. I also like to use programs such as Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. I am not interested in gaming. The macbook is going to be for everyday use, and I plan to take it with me on some occassions to my work.

Lastly, the screen size is not a deciding factor for me.

So my question to you: Which laptop would perform the best for my needs?

Thank you for your time :)

michelg1970

macrumors 6502
Jul 26, 2011
The Hague - The Netherlands
Couldn't you just wait a bit longer? My 2013 rMBP is due for an update (so I can still sell it for a reasonable price here) but I would honestly want the next one with the much-discussed Skylake processor...

Just a thought.

Tankmaze

macrumors 68000
Mar 7, 2012
get the 15", quad core !!! and plus the old iris pro somewhat still have better performance vs the new iris broadwell

VesselA

macrumors regular
Jul 26, 2015
Hello everyone,