Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Vento

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 27, 2021
Hi. I am a newbie to Macs. I've got a Macbook Air 2017, and it will not install any OS - it gets so far and then says "An error occurred preparing the software update". Long story short - I've tried erasing the HD, doing First Aid, using internet recovery, trying a USB stick, using different and older versions of MacOS... nothing works. (Sometimes it hangs on "Less than a minute remaining...", too.)

I want to try installing MacOS from another Mac via a cable, but I can't find a simple guide online about how to do this, for a total Mac newbie (I am experienced with Windows though - I am techy, but not Maccy!)

What cable will I need? This Macbook has a Thunderbolt port, but it's one of the old types, not USB-C. I have access to two other Macs - an M1 Mac Mini, and a Macbook Air M1 2020, but I think their Thunderbolt ports are USB-C, and I can't find anyone who makes an "old" TB to USB-B TB cable... so maybe I can't connect them that way?...

This Macbook Air 2017 should be able to go up to Monterey, but that doesn't install (Big Sur doesn't either). I wondered if trying High Sierra would work - but I can't download the installer for that on one of my other Macs, in order to make a bootable USB stick, because those Macs don't support it. But I only want to download it, not install it on the M1 Macs - how frustrating!!

Any help gratefully received. Right now, this thing is effectively bricked :(

Thanks. Phil

Vento

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 27, 2021
Another weird thing, that might be relevant: when I try and boot it into safe mode, by pressing and holding Shift after powering up, it keeps powering back off again and cycling round (while the Shift key is held). It doesn't look healthy!

gilby101

macrumors 68030
Mar 17, 2010
Tasmania