Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Guido44

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2008
I need a lot of help here. I have the Canon G9.

I'd really like to install CHDK.
I'm NOT a programmer here so, please if you offer help I need step by step instruction THANKS.
dan

I created the root dir file on the SD card.

I've read the instructions several times here:

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/G9#Firmware_info and here:

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ/Mac#Getting_CHDK_onto_an_SD_Card_on_Mac_OS_X_10.5_.22Leopard.22

I can't seen to open The Archiver download. No idea what to w/ it anyway.

I can't open the "g9-1.00 dat" file ..... ?

I read on the instrution page here: http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ/Mac#Getting_CHDK_onto_an_SD_Card_on_Mac_OS_X_10.5_.22Leopard.22

In the terminal window I enter: "cd /Volumes/CANON_DC" (I named it CANON_DC to keep it simple for me)
Lost now I enter

adsl-68-73-116-80:CANON_DC danielfarina$ xattr -d com.apple.quarantine DISKBOOT.BIN PS.FIR
No such file: DISKBOOT.BIN
No such file: PS.FIR
adsl-68-73-116-80:CANON_DC daniel

Help please.

thanks again,

dan

reclusivemonkey

macrumors 6502
I had a nitemare trying to install CHDK on my camera. Apparently its something to do with Mac's not creating bootable disks in the way the camera wants. I gave up TBH, as it just wasn't worth the hassle in the end. There is a forum for the CHDK firmware, try searching on there.

Guido44

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2008
Ok, I formatted my card , created a root file: VERS.REQ
I dragged the download to the file.
EDIT: I don't think I unzipped the download or "Unarchived" it. I also dowloaded "The Archiver". i can't get that to unzip either. help please.
when I put the card in my camera and press the menu and display button at the same time it reads:

Canon PowerShot G9
P-ID:315A PAL D

Firmware Ver GM1.00D
NoError
Jan 11 2008 08:05:13 (Yes I know the date is wrong)