Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jupiter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
The Lake District, England
Hello, I'm studying Architecture in the UK and am looking for a good camera suitable for my needs, so far I've been looking at high-end bridge cameras and also entry level slrs. I need to be able to get wide angle shots of existing buildings/sites at a high resolution suitable for photomontage later in the project but also get good close-ups of models etc. I'm completely new to photography so have no idea what cameras/lenses will be most useful.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

harveypooka

macrumors 65816
Feb 24, 2004
Hello, I'm studying Architecture in the UK and am looking for a good camera suitable for my needs, so far I've been looking at high-end bridge cameras and also entry level slrs. I need to be able to get wide angle shots of existing buildings/sites at a high resolution suitable for photomontage later in the project but also get good close-ups of models etc. I'm completely new to photography so have no idea what cameras/lenses will be most useful.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I'm no expert but I just got the Canon EOS 400D. It has some ace reviews, a step up from the previous model, the 350D. It's a good price too. I had a quick google and found a page on about.com that might help: http://photography.about.com/od/basics/a/bpwideangle.htm

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004
Well, for architecture, the traditional way would be to get a Canon 5D + wide tilt/shift lens.

But as it is digital, one can get a cheaper camera and do the distortion and perspective corrections in DxO Optics Pro, so look for a camera/lens combination that is supported by this software.