Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HawaiiMacAddict

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 28, 2006
On one of my Macs of course
Aloha everyone,

I am a photog newbie, having used mainly the point-and-shoot cameras. That being said, I would like to actually learn how to properly set up and shoot a great picture. To that end, I am in the market for a digital SLR and have been considering the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi, but noticed that it uses CMOS instead of CCD. I've read that CCDs are inherently better than CMOS, but would like to hear what actual photographers have to say on the subject.

Is there really that much of a difference, in print quality, between pictures from a CMOS camera, as opposed to a CCD camera? Keep in mind that my intended uses are not large prints, but 8x10 or smaller. This is a camera I will be most likely keeping for several years, and I'm reasonably sure that this camera will do a very nice job, but would like to request any information on personal choice on CMOS vs. CCD, and why that choice was made.

Mahalo in advance for your responses,

:apple:HawaiiMacAddict

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Aloha everyone,

I am a photog newbie, having used mainly the point-and-shoot cameras. That being said, I would like to actually learn how to properly set up and shoot a great picture. To that end, I am in the market for a digital SLR and have been considering the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi, but noticed that it uses CMOS instead of CCD. I've read that CCDs are inherently better than CMOS, but would like to hear what actual photographers have to say on the subject.