Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

joemcneil

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2014
Hello. I am an undergraduate student about to enter the realm of postgraduate research, and am looking to upgrade/simplify my setup. My current setup consists of two Macs, and I feel that things could be much simpler with a single computer. I feel that, for me at least, it's unnecessary to own two computers. If I change my setup to only one computer, it'd have to be a MacBook of some kind. I’ll be travelling a fair amount over the next year, mostly to Continental Europe and South-East Asia, and would like something portable to take with me to take notes, consume media, create documents etc. I would like the option for enough power to run illustrator/photoshop well, as well as some (very) light gaming, but this is not a deal-breaker. Cost is not a massive issue if I sell both old macs, but keep in mind I am a student.

Current setup:

Baseline 21.5” iMac (Late 2012) (2.7GHz Quad-Core i5, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, GeForce GT 640M with 512MB dedicated memory)

I use this computer primarily for more power-hungry jobs, such as the creation of geological maps, scientific posters, and figures (in photoshop and illustrator). I also use it for media consumption, and some very light gaming, i.e. Minecraft/World of Warcraft (when I get the time). Naturally, any replacement machine would have to be able to do the aforementioned tasks to the same degree or higher. This machine has been great, however, the 5400rpm HDD and non-retina display are starting to show its age.

Baseline 13” rMBP (Mid-2014) (2.6GHz Dual-Core i5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, integrated Intel graphics)

I use this computer primarily for extensive spreadsheets, word processing, presentations, documents, emails, web browsing, communication, and so on. Generally a much lighter workload than the iMac. Still going strong, and a genuinely great laptop.