Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jimbo Slice

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 4, 2008
Oakville, ON
Hi all,

I MRoogled this and found the following compact models that support recording in RAW: -

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2K
Canon G9
Leica D-LUX 2 or 3

If anyone can add more to the list please let me know. Reason I ask is because I'm looking into getting a camera and I'd like the option of recording in RAW. I'm a student who just wants to get into photography as a hobby and would like greater control of editing post-"production" if thats the right term?

If the experts think that getting a camera with RAW support is unnecessary, please let me know :eek:
Thanks for all your help guys.

adversecamber

macrumors regular
Jul 9, 2008
Personally, I think getting a compact camera with RAW is unnecessary.

I'd suggest taking a look at a D-SLR. The Nikon D60 is a superb camera and very well priced. I have the D80 - superb.

With a D-SLR you have a larger chip, much better S/N ratio, less fiddly and the option to expand on the range of lenses. If you're considering the Leica then the D60 is certainly in your price range.

jalagl

macrumors 6502a
Jun 5, 2003
Costa Rica
You can alse consider one of the Canon DSLRs, which, as the Nikon D60 suggested by adversecamber, are an important leap in image quality and RAW performance from the P&S. Here's a few suggestions from Amazon:

All those cameras are relatively small, and, having used both the XT and the XTi, I definitely recommend them. And they are all in the same price range as the Leica, and just little higher than the G9.

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America
If the poster wanted a P&S with RAW why recommend a camera which is much bigger just for that feature, you're on the right track suggesting a small Canon or Nikon body, but please we all know which camera manufacturer makes an even smaller one! :)