Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

superted666

Original poster
Oct 17, 2005
Hey guys n girls,

Here are my first shots taken by my new digital camera, its my first time with a proper dslr so i was playing with all the settings to get a better understanding of things....

Here are some images, now i had a big issue on the action shots with reflection from the ground however i managed to get them a bit better towards the end of the shooting session.

I wouldnt mind knowing whats wrong with each pic etc....

http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01815.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01816.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01820.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01821.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01822.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01824.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01830.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01847.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01873.JPG
http://www.fun-t.com/ft/images/DSC01879.JPG

also im shooting these as fine quality and to jpeg so as to fit lots on a CF card, would i notice a big diff shooting in RAW?

beavo451

macrumors 6502
Jun 22, 2006
RAW qill help with exposure correction and white balance correction. Also, there will be no loss of information as opposed to jpeg compression.

#1 Pretty good. Nice colors.
#2 Snapshot picture of a tower. Also, it looks like the image either suffers from camera shake or needs to sharpened, or the lens is just plain soft.
#3 Does nothing for me. Good exposure though and good attempt at DOF usage.
#4 Same comments as #2
#5 Again it appears to be blurred or OOF.
#6 Cool shot. I would bump the saturation and do some curves adjustment to make the picture pop more. Blown out section on the ground is distracting. For future reference, underexpose a little so you don't get any blown highlights and use fill flash to bring out the biker some more. Try for a better angle.