Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

papbot

macrumors 68020
Original poster
May 19, 2015
On my iPad there is the option to convert to esim which I m thinking of doing. But in anticipation of a new ipad replacing my current one in the next few months I was wondering if the cell service would be transferred to the new one as it is with the phones and even Apple Watches. I’m considering doing this just to eliminate the physical sim, I’ve been swapping the same one into new iPads for several years now. Has anyone done this and does this occur with the activation of the new one and data transfer from the old? On my new Apple Watch the option appeared to either set up a new plan or transfer the existing one from the old watch. Is this how it would occur with iPads?

MTShipp

macrumors 6502a
Mar 25, 2009
Raleigh, North Carolina
Now watching this thread. I am in same position as OP. Been AT&T since Day 1 and have been swapping my SIM with each new purchase. I was forced into eSIM when I went to my iPhone 14 Pro Max and it was without a hitch. New iPad enroute but thinking of staying on physical SIM until I am forced off.

papbot

macrumors 68020
Original poster
May 19, 2015
Now watching this thread. I am in same position as OP. Been AT&T since Day 1 and have been swapping my SIM with each new purchase. I was forced into eSIM when I went to my iPhone 14 Pro Max and it was without a hitch. New iPad enroute but thinking of staying on physical SIM until I am forced off.