Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mjsanders5uk

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 11, 2009
Here's the thing. I'm a cameraman by trade and take a load of photos as relaxation (although most seem to be of the kids at the moment).

I usually shoot in JPEG on a Nikon D50 but sometimes switch to RAW if I think I'm going make some changes in post or make HQ prints. When I take a set of saw pics in RAW, I usually find there's only 1 or 2 I want to to keep in RAW.

What I really want in some utility that replaces the other RAW pics in the set with JPEGS.

At the moment I use iPhoto8.

Many thanks

Michael

spice weasel

macrumors 65816
Jul 25, 2003
RAW is your archive copy, since you can go back and change it however you like whenever you like without degrading the original. It's like the negative.

However, if you are sure you're never going to go back and tweak that shot, and you want to save space, the easiest way is to just export as a full-sized JPEG and then re-import it into iPhoto and delete the RAW.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Here's the thing. I'm a cameraman by trade and take a load of photos as relaxation (although most seem to be of the kids at the moment).

I usually shoot in JPEG on a Nikon D50 but sometimes switch to RAW if I think I'm going make some changes in post or make HQ prints. When I take a set of saw pics in RAW, I usually find there's only 1 or 2 I want to to keep in RAW.

What I really want in some utility that replaces the other RAW pics in the set with JPEGS.

At the moment I use iPhoto8.

Many thanks

Michael

Batch convert everything to JPEG, delete the raw files you don't want and optionally, the couple of JPEGs you dont' want. Though storage is cheap enough these days that on a D50, I'd probably just keep all the NEFs, they're not that big.

Paul

emorydunn

macrumors 6502
Jun 5, 2006
Austin Texas