Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

craigsharp

macrumors regular
Aug 2, 2008
Oklahoma
The first is pretty cool, but the second seems a little lack luster... I'm not sure what kinds of filters, maybe a circular polarized filter or something of the sort, and maybe if you aren't already using one, you should get a lens hood.

dsnort

macrumors 68000
Jan 28, 2006
In persona non grata
Both are very nicely done.

The first is very similar to a DeskTop in OSX, look in "Nature". Or maybe "Plants".

The second is crisp clean, but in an earth tone, mildly depressed way. Reminds me of a rainy day.

Flynnstone

macrumors 65816
Feb 25, 2003
Cold beer land
The first one looks noisy. I'm not sure if its the jpeg compression or not. What ISO was it shot with? I have a Panasonic that I have to shot at about 80 ISO or I think the picture has too much noise.

The second would look better with a blue blue sky.

I'm not a professional, so value of advice is probably what you paid :D

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
#1: Not terrible, but blades of grass (and plants in general) are kind of beginner's crutches that seem to be photographed "just because they're there." It does look like a desktop background, but I'm not sure that's what you really want to achieve with your photographs. Plus we all know what blades of grass look like- with plant photography the challenge is showing us something we haven't seen before and making the familiar unfamiliar.